Regional Workshop on Statistics of International Trade in Services (SITS)

December 9-11, 2020 (9:00am Mexico City, 10:00am New York, 12:00pm Chile, 4:00pm CET)

Organized Jointly by UN ECLAC and UNSD in collaboration with WTO, the main goal of the Workshop is to assist the countries gain better understanding of the concepts and definitions of the Manual on Statistics of International Trade in Services 2010 (MSITS 2010) especially on selected topics such as digital trade and their applications to selected categories of Trade in Services. 

The specific objectives of the workshop are the following:

  • Advance in the implementation of the Manual on Statistics of International Trade in Services 2010 (MSITS 2010) recommendations, especially with an in-depth focus on most challenging categories of Trade in Services;
  • Enhance capacities to produce high quality data and meet an increased demand for timely and relevant data for policy needs in the Decade of Action and era of Covid-19 pandemic;
  • Raise awareness of the development of a statistical conceptual framework for measuring digital trade in services; and
  • Build capacities of national statistical offices and other relevant agencies in the use of technology for SITS.

The workshop is also an opportunity for countries to share their experiences and challenges in the compilation of SITS, especially on challenging categories.

To see the agenda and presentations, click here

 

Portada
Biennium
2020-2021
Date
Type
Conferencias, talleres, seminarios
Topic
COVID-19 and production of official statistics
International trade and balance of payments